Why yes, I am too young to ____. Thanks.

“Aren’t you too young to be selling me wine?” –concerned/comical wine shop buyer just last week.

What a compliment! Thanks! At 27, that question means that the gray hair I can’t afford to color isn’t too noticeable.

Score :  Abby: 5; Life: 743.

The last memorable experience I had of someone inquiring about my age was during my pregnancy. I was 22 and waiting tables and an older woman asked, “Aren’t you a little young to be having a baby?”

“Why, yes ma’am. I am in fact too young. But that isn’t stopping me.”

Being a single mother ages me in ways that I still don’t fully comprehend. And that’s ok. I wouldn’t trade it for hundreds of hours of free time, a third of my income allocated to fun instead of childcare, or anything else in the world. It is the most rewarding and challenging thing I have ever done. And I am constantly learning more about parenting, Eva, and myself. Those are good things to write about. I know a bit about wine and food, a lot about literature, but I know a whole heckuva lot about being a single mom.

So there will probably a happy mix of things but I will *attempt* to focus it on the way Eva and I impact each other’s lives. At the end of the day, it’s about keeping a positive perspective which is one of my life’s greatest challenges. If I get negative, call me Eeyore and tell me to buck up. Now that Eva is (almost) 4 years old and the dreaded “K” word looms in our Fall 2013 future (hint: it involves enrollment and packed lunches… I can’t speak the word yet because it brings me to TEARS), I feel there is the possibility of stability ahead. If you know me well, you know we’ve kind of been through the ringer thus far and my heart longs for a period of rest. My guess is that it won’t involve extra sleep but we may be able to enjoy a little less drama. Like…maybe no more incarcerated fiances? Maybe?!? Less drama should mean more time for writing, exploring, and adventuring. I’m crossing my fingers. Because Eva and I are both too young not to have fun.

Cheers, friends. We like walking through life with you.

4 thoughts on “Why yes, I am too young to ____. Thanks.

  1. I get that all the time, as I’m sure you can imagine.

    My youthful appearance frequently comes in handy in my ongoing work with, uh, delinquent parents. Yup. Never thought I’d live to see the day where I’m a positive role model.

  2. Too young to be having children?!?!? Umm, lady aren’t you too old to be asking that
    question? I’ve heard Kids say the darndest things, but geeze!

    Okay, I had to go for it. Here is a clip of kids in kindergarden being interviewed in Kindergarden Cop. My fav is the girl with the over alls. So Cute!!

I love feedback!

